Tags

, , , , , ,

So, there it was.. a couple months ago a clear acrylic plate was sitting on a clearance shelf at M&S. And since I’ve never tried an under glass decoupage/stamping 🙂 I thought I’d give it a go.

Here’s what it turned out like:

But before that happened it as was sitting neatly with a peacock b&w napkin, my favourite glue Ocaldo friendly glue, and a vague idea of where this project would take me. I just went for the peacock motif as a centre piece. I thought that taking it one step at a time, with no blueprint in my head for the rest of the project, is the only thing I was able to come up with at the spot.

Btw, how often do you work this way, i.e. start a project and go with the flow? I would really like to know, please drop me a line at the end of the post, that is if you’ve got a second or two :). Perhaps some hints and tips on how you would see these lil’ projects of mine changed/altered/redone. My husband says ‘oh, that’s nice’, really, every time… So, a bit of an honest opinion would be interesting to read.

Anyways, below is a photo tutorial showing the process:

1. Cutting out, tracing with ink pad for a circle shape and gluing.                                                                                                            (two layers of glue, 10 min of drying time in between, wipe clean the edges)

2. Sealing the base with two layers of pearlescent white paint and a thin layer of gesso primer:

3. Using relief paint for a base rim:

Once sealing the base I used black relief paint to give the peacock motif a bit of a rim. I moved slightly away from the line ‘circling out’ the peacock and draw a twin line keeping the plate moving, and the relief paint resting on a tip of my finger to keep 0,3 mm distance between two lines. I guess skipping this step would make life easier :). Here, I wanted to try out how it would turn out to work with contour paint under glass and on fairly uneven surface. In fact, the lines are a bit curvy in places…

4. Two colours stamping with ornamental stamps:

I pressed the plate against the stamp and not the other way round, the good thing is – since it’s basically plastic, you can always remove any stamped images with wet tissue (or baby wipes, for example, invaluable when working with paints, bitumen, varnishes, ink pads, etc. I do all of the bitumen distressing with wet wipes – it dissolves the sticky liquid).

I finished the plate of with a brown outer rim, again – a couple of layers of pearl white and a couple of layers of gesso mixed with black acrylic paint. Sanded and sealed with polyurethane varnish spray (three times to make sure it won’t stick to any surface once cured well).

Here’s a close up:

Till the next post and thanks for visiting!

ps. here’s a photo update for gluetheraphy. She suggested leaving the edges with no background. Just stamps. On plastic. So here’s the question: do you know how to seal stamping on glass/plastic? I thought about polyurethane spray varnish. Any other thoughts?

Dominika

